Hola, bonjour, aloha, howdy!

Creating wearable art during Studio Creations!

My name is Danielle, and I am the new Family Experiences McDermott intern here at the wonderful DMA.  As I hope you can tell with my greeting, I am really excited to be here at this fantastic museum!  During the next year I will be helping out with many of the diverse educational programs held at the museum, including Family Celebrations, Late Nights, Access Programs, Arturo’s Art & Me, [We]ekend Programs and much, much more!  Since I will be working and creating with many of you this upcoming year, I thought I would take a minute to tell you a little bit more about myself, so here it goes!

I…

  • Was born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico and as a result love anything and everything with lots and lots of green chile.
  • Have visited 20 of the 50 states, and lived in 5 of them (California, Illinois, Oregon, New Mexico, and of course Texas).
  • Moved to Dallas from Austin, where I lived for 3 years while completing my Master’s degree in Art Education (graduated May 2012, woo-hoo!)
  • Earned my undergraduate degree in Photography, and try to take pictures as much as possible.
  • Love to crochet and sew!
  • Have a cat named Kitty (pretty original, eh?)
  • Currently, have 3 pairs of cowboy boots—but always looking to add to my collection!

The above photograph was taken during my very first Saturday Studio Creations class.  I had a fantastic time creating this crown with the great families that visited the studio.  We all worked to create animal-themed wearable art that was inspired by the Legacy of the Plumed Serpent in Ancient Mexico exhibition now on view at the museum.  You’ll notice that I added bright red feathers to my crown—this is because Quetzalcoatl, a revered leader and ancient diety of the peoples of southern Mexico, was often symbolized (or shown) with brightly colored feathers from the quetzal bird.  Other artists in the studio created crowns, swords, shields, tiaras–I’m amazed at the amount of creativity DMA families have!

This great and FREE art-making program takes place every Saturday and Sunday from 1-3pm in the Center for Creative Connections studio.  I hope you’ll come and create with us!

Posted by: Danielle

1 Comment

Filed under DMA Programs, Just for Fun, Uncategorized

One response to “Hola, bonjour, aloha, howdy!

  1. Pingback: Getting Inside the Teenage Brain « Dallas Museum of Art Educator Blog

Leave a Reply

