Meet our Summer Interns!

Madeleine and Laurel at the Dallas Museum of Art

We are so fortunate to have two wonderful University of North Texas graduate students working with us in the Family Experiences and Access Programs Education Department this summer. Let’s welcome Laurel and Madeleine!

Meet Laurel

Hi everybody! My name is Laurel and I am one of the Education interns at the Dallas Museum of Art for the summer of 2012. I’m so excited about this opportunity and am ecstatic to be spending the summer with wonderful people amid beautiful artwork!

Here are a few interesting facts about me:

1. I was born in San Diego, California and moved to Flower Mound, Texas when I was five, and have lived here ever since.

2. I attended Stephen F. Austin State University for my undergrad and received a degree in Art History in May, 2010. In August, 2010 I began my graduate career at the University of North Texas. I currently have one semester left until I will get my master’s in Art History with the Museum Education Certificate.

3. I have a young cat named Rosie and she is the best! She can get a little crazy at times but she is really sweet cat and I love her.

4. I interned at the Marietta/Cobb Museum of Art in Marietta, Georgia in the summer of 2009, and was the Public Programs Intern at the Crow Collection of Asian Art in the summer of 2011. I have learned so much from my past internships and look forward to learning even more at the Dallas Museum of Art this summer.

5. I am extremely blessed to have two amazing nephews, and a niece on the way. They have helped me learn about how children think and learn, which has greatly helped me in the museum education field. I can’t wait to return the favor and teach them about art and share my love and passion for it with them!

Edgar Degas, Ballet Dancers on the Stage, 1883, Dallas Museum of Art, gift of Mr. and Mrs. Franklin B. Bartholow

6. One of my favorite works of art at the Dallas Museum of Art is Ballet Dancers on the Stage by Edgar Degas. I love this painting for a few reasons. First, I love the movement and texture Degas is able to portray. The soft brush strokes that make up the dancer’s skirts seem to float in air and create a texture that resembles glittering tulle. Secondly, I love how Degas creates an image where some of the dancers are not whole images. While we cannot see the other dancers or complete figures, we know this is a large group but Degas has decided to focus in on a certain area of the frame. This creates an asymmetrical composition that draws the viewer’s eye into the painting. I also love the pastel colors Degas uses. The soft hues reflect the colors that would be seen at a ballet.

Meet Madeleine

Hello everyone! My name is Madeleine and I am an Education intern this summer! I am currently getting my masters in art history at UNT and my museum education certification. I am so excited for all of the fun things to do and see at the museum over the next couple of months! Here are some fun facts about me:

1)      I am originally from Harlingen, Texas, a small town in the Rio Grande Valley near the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. I spent most of my childhood either on the beach or nursing a brutal sunburn.

2)      I attended Trinity University in San Antonio and majored in art history with a focus on Impressionism and Post-Impressionism art. While I lived there, I spent a lot of time going to Spurs games (and I’m completely outnumbered in DFW).

3)      I also interned at the San Antonio Museum of Art for 3 semesters, and after graduating, I became the assistant manager of their museum store for almost 2 years. It was so much fun shopping all day with a museum’s credit card!

4)      I love cooking, especially when it involves vegetables and herbs from my tiny garden. My favorite thing to cook (and eat!) is tiramisu.

5)      Since Laurel, Leah Hanson and I all have red hair, we are planning to take over the universe sometime soon… But we’ll start with the DMA!

Vincent van Gogh, Sheaves of Wheat, 1890, Dallas Museum of Art, The Wendy and Emery Reves Collection

My favorite piece in the DMA’s collection is Sheaves of Wheat by Vincent Van Gogh. I’ve always been very fascinated by the paintings he did towards the end of his life, especially Wheatfield with Crows (which is in the Van Gogh Museum’s collection in Amsterdam). I always thought that Wheatfield with Crows was the last painting he made before his death in July 1890, but after reading the information about Sheaves of Wheat on the DMA’s website, I learned that it was possibly created after the Wheatfield with Crows painting. I find the difference in color palette to be the most intriguing part of this painting, especially when compared to the Wheatfield with Crows. It is muted and pale, not bold and bright in contrast like the more well-known “final painting.” I would like to imagine that the softer painting was created closer to his death, at a time where he had finally found some peace.

Be sure to stop by the DMA for our mid[we]eek Wednesday programming in July and you just might find Laurel and Madeleine giving a Gallery Tour at 1:30pm or leading Sketching in the Galleries from 2-4:00pm!

Posted by: Mary

1 Comment

Filed under DMA Programs

One response to “Meet our Summer Interns!

  1. It sounds like you girls are going to have a great summer! We wrote a blog on another employee from your neck of the woods, Amy Henry, who is the Patron Travel Manager and Executive Assistant at Nasher Sculpture Center! Check it out: http://northparkcenterdallas.tumblr.com/post/27483323675/trend-setting-northpark-mom-amy-henry

Leave a Reply

