The DMA Twelve Days of Christmas

Magic is in the air, and it’s time for the annual We Art Family tribute to the holidays! I’m afraid I was a lot more clever last year (click here to read The DMA Night Before Christmas). This year we are going a-caroling…feel free to hum along!

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me a partridge in a pear tree.

Arturo hanging out in The Nest

{Ok, ok, so it’s a parrot in an apple tree. I took some liberties, I’ll admit, but I couldn’t leave Arturo out of the fun.}

On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 2 turtle doves.

Tray, Namikawa Sosuke

{Turtle doves? Well, not really, but let’s imagine.}

On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 3 French hens.

Hen, Elwyn Lamar Waston

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 4 calling birds.

Bird and Butterfly, Joseph Domjan

{Have you ever noticed how many birds there are in this song?}

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 5 golden rings.

Pair of ear spirals with ram’s heads, second half of 5th century BC, Greek

{Finally—some jewelry!}

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 6 geese a-laying.

Cabinet, Louis Majorelle

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 7 swans a-swimming.

 

Bridge at Pont-Aven, Emile Bernard

{This brings our bird count up to a grand total of 23!}

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 8 maids a-milking.

Landscape with Distant Buildings and a Herdswoman, Francois Boucher

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 9 ladies dancing.

 

Ballet Dancers on the Stage, Edgar Degas

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 10 lords a-leaping.

Shiva Nataraja, 11th century, India

{Shiva Nataraja is Hindu Lord of the Dance!}

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 11 pipers piping.

The Bugler (Le Clarion), Edouard Manet

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me 12 drummers drumming.

 

Drum, Cote D'Ivoire, Senufo peoples

Wishing you the merriest of holidays!

Posted by: Leah

Leave a comment

Filed under Just for Fun

Leave a Reply

