Best internship ever!

Our guest blogger today is Leticia Salinas, McDermott Intern of Family Experiences.

It was almost a year ago that I started my internship at the Dallas Museum of Art and cannot believe time has gone by so fast. As my last day approaches, I can’t help but feel sad that I have to leave such an incredible place. I still remember how nervous I was the first few days of my internship. I didn’t know if I would like the job, if I would be good at it, if the people I worked with would like me, if I would like them, etc. Lucky for me, I really enjoy this job, I love the people I work with, and I’m almost positive that they like me as well. This has been a great learning experience and I’ve had a blast working with some pretty amazing people that I will miss a whole lot. So as a farewell, I would like to share with you a few of my favorite projects and memories during my time at the museum.

One of the first projects I ever got as an intern was given to me by my lovely co-worker Leah Hanson. She needed a bear with fashionable outfits for every season. Her material of choice was felt. My desk was covered in felt for about three days. Let’s just say that after this project, I became an expert at making things out of felt.

Autism Awareness Family Celebration was one of my favorite events at the museum. Amanda had the awesome idea to have bubbles out in the courtyard for kids to play with. Even though it was ridiculously hot and humid that day, it was worth every minute. Everybody, including me, had a blast.

One of my favorite classes to teach is Arturo’s Art and Me. The theme for this particular class was Makin’ Music. It was great to see kids’ reactions as we played Jimmy Hendrix in front of Rock, Rock by Richard Lindner.

Even though summers at the DMA can be pretty stressful because of Summer Art Camps it has been one of my favorite seasons here. It’s really refreshing and so much fun being around kids for most of the day and hearing them talk about and create art. My favorite summer camp experience was Jackson Pollock style paintings. It got pretty messy but summer campers really enjoyed the activity.

Even though the DMA has great programs and classes to offer, my internship would not have been as rewarding if it weren’t for the people I work with. Thanks guys for making this an awesome experience for me!

1 Comment

Filed under DMA Programs

One response to “Best internship ever!

  1. It looks like you had an amazing experience! Congrats on your success and best of luck in your future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

