A Day in the Life of Summer Art Camp

6:01 a.m.: My alarm goes off. Though I told myself last night that I would not hit snooze, I do. Just once.

6:11 a.m.: Ok, now I’m willing to roll out of bed. Today is my first day of teaching summer camp this year. I’m excited, but have a million “to dos” racing through my head.

7:57 a.m.: Arrive at the museum. Transform the Tech Lab into a makeshift classroom for 4 and 5 year olds. Our camp is all about the art of picture books, so I want to post images of some of my favorite picture books on the walls.

9:00 a.m.: The campers start arriving and energy is high. I get them painting RIGHT AWAY. We’ve got lots to do!

9:16 a.m.: We’re focusing on Eric Carle’s art today, so we read The Very Hungry Caterpillar and learn about how he creates his illustrations through a process of painting, cutting, and collage. When you know how he does his work, suddenly you can’t help but notice the texture of the papers as they overlap.

Reading "The Very Hungry Caterpillar"

9:45 a.m.: Safari time! To get inspiration for our own art-making later in the morning, we scour the museum for examples of animals in art. Carle’s stories almost always feature bugs or animals, so we look at art from Africa to Asia to get ideas for our own projects. (Side note: I love looking like the Pied Piper with a train of red-aproned kids following behind as we troop through the galleries).

We discover a carved fish in the African galleries

10:17 a.m.: Snack time. Hmm…I kind of like the preschool pace of life. Snacks mid-morning is a great idea!

10:31 a.m.: The campers start cutting out shapes from their painted tissue papers and arrange them into bug or animal shapes. We’ve got several butterflies, a chameleon, and even a lion and unicorn.

Eric Carle has some competition!

11:25 a.m.: For some reason all the kids are chanting “one, one, one” over and over again as they glue their collages together. I’m not sure who started it.

11:30 a.m.: Kids who finish their Eric Carle collages work on making cool or warm color collages with tissue paper. We are a sticky, messy (but happy) bunch today.

11:56 a.m.: A make-shift band has formed with the pencils being used as drumsticks. Brooke leads everyone off with “and a 1, 2, 3, 4.”

Pencil band making some music

12:00 noon: Pick-up time. I wave goodbye to the campers as their parents pick them up. What a fun group! The morning flew by, and I’m already looking forward to seeing them again tomorrow. But before that happens, I need to find an old puzzle to use for a project, check my email, post on the blog, cut up floral foam….

Posted: Leah

Leave a comment

Filed under Children’s art, DMA Programs, PreK

Leave a Reply

